Reviving Disco With Space Goggles

Hello Friends!  This is Kevin.  I have been sort of quiet lately, and I have not been posting, leaving comments, or doing much of anything.  For the last couple of months, I have been going through some maaad stress at my jobby-job.  The place that I have been working at for the last 10+ years was recently bought out by this company.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to have a job anymore, but luckily they asked me to stay on…  So, I guess I am still considered ‘economically viable’.  Yay for me!

But my job has completely changed and I no longer know what I’m doing.  It is taking me a very long time to adjust to their way of doing things, and everything is soooo different at this new company (but a helluva lot better at the same time, too!).  Basically, I’m a little lost right now, and I’m focused on other things in life besides music, podcasting, etc.

But, Beezy has finally had enough of me and my excuses, and he has been forced to crack the whip (to get me posting)…  So here I go!!!

Artist Spotlight: Calvin Harris

I only recently ‘discovered’ Calvin Harris back in February 2009 after hearing his newest tune “I’m Not Alone” on Pete Tong’s Essential Selection.  Since then, I’ve been back-tracking and hearing/seeing him pop up everywhere on the internets, on remixes, and even on TV commercials!

He released his first album “I Created Disco” in 2007, and I remembered seeing it make the rounds on the blogspizzots back then (but I never took the time to check it out).  Later on, I found out that many of the songs on that album were popular with ‘The Kids’ and ‘The Club Scene’.  And when “I’m Not Alone” was leaked earlier this year, a lot of those same peoples were blown away by the song (myself included).

I’m Not Alone

Here is the video for “I’m Not Alone”.  I don’t really understand what’s going on in the video, but the song is massive!

Over the past couple of months, Calvin Harris has had 3 songs(!) dominating the dance floors: “I’m Not Alone”, his remix of Passion Pit’s “The Reeling”, and his remix of The Hours’ “See The Light”.  This dude is on fire right now!!!

There are a bunch of Calvin Harris videos, remixes, and commercials after the jump.  There is also a short interview/’making of’ for the awesome commercial that Calvin Harris recently did for Coca Cola!

Kia Soul Commercial

A couple weeks ago, I started seeing a commercial for the Kia Soul car.  The song that was used for it sounded very familiar to me.  I soon realized that it was off of Calvin Harris’ “I Created Disco” album.  It was the song called “Colours” (which was one of the ‘hits’ that I alluded to above).  Have you seen this commercial where you live?  Or maybe have you seen it, but with a different song in the background?  Here is the “Colours” version that is currently being played in my area:

Coke Creatures Summer 2009 Commercial

Calvin Harris recently did a cool/weird/cute commercial for Coca Cola.  Although he does not appear in it, he worked hand-in-hand with the director to tailor the track to ad.  Have any of you seen this commercial where you live?  I doubt that it will ever air in my area…

Here is the exclusive interview and ‘making-of’ for the Coke commercial.  You learn a lot about Calvin Harris in this quick little 3 minute clip:

Remixes

In addition to doing his own productions, releases, and live performances, Calvin Harris also does a lot of remixes.  And he usually makes them 100 times better than the original versions!  As I mentioned above, he has two remixes out right now that are super popular with ‘The Kids’ and ‘The Club Scene’.

Here is the remix that he did of Passion Pit’s “The Reeling”:

And here is the remix that he did of The Hours’ “See The Light:

I Created Disco

Calvin’s first album was called “I Created Disco”.  If you like what you hear so far, then it is definitely worth checking out.  In addition to the title track “I Created Disco” and the song “Colours” (that was recently used for the Kia Soul commercial), there were 3 other ‘hits’ on that album: “Acceptable In The 80’s”, “The Girls”, and “Merrymaking At My Place”.

Here is the video for “Acceptable In The 80’s”:

Here is the video for “The Girls”:

And here is the video for “Merrymaking At My Place”:

This entry was posted in Editorial, Songs, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reviving Disco With Space Goggles

  1. justinsweeks says:

    That 80’s song is crap. but, i am really feeling everything else. I guess I don’t see this as disco or disco related, but I dont know enough about disco related. Either way, I am really feelin it.

    That hamster organ commercial was fresh. I have seen the hamster wheel one several times. Too bad we cant see the cooler one around here.!

  2. outobol says:

    Calvin Harris is dope, he did that song with Dizze Rascal “Dance Wiv Me”. Which was apparently a huge hit in the UK it’s some serious pop junk but I liked it. Afrikan Boy used his jam “Vegas”

    Afrikan Boy’s jam L.A.G.O.S

    http://www.last.fm/music/Afrikan+Boy/_/L.A.G.O.S

  3. Kevin says:

    I got the tongue-in-cheek disco phrase from Calvin Harris’ biography on his website: “Disco disappeared, didn’t it? Everyone got sick of it. Now I’m reviving it, with space goggles, or something.”

Leave a Reply

