Shit We Are Diggin’ (Tracklist +)

stanbushthetouch

It had been a while since we did a catch-all podcast and this one was a ton of fun.  I think it is one of our best ever which is understandable coming off of the great 3rd Grand Rapids Podcast.  A great mix of music styles and some revealing discussion.  Who knew Justin wants to put Hip Hop behind him?  Plus Thaden is so damn cute it makes me want to puke (rainbows).

THE TRACKLIST!

Stan Bush- You Got the Touch (Thaden’s Pick)

Crookers- Il Cattivo

Subfocus- Rock It (Kevin’s Pick)

Electric Wizard- We Hate You

Elevator to Hell- Backteeth

Screaming Females- Starving Dog

Rachelle Garniez- My House of Peace

Mulatu Astatke and Heliocentrics- Addis Black Widow

Metric- Help I’m Alive

Runa Los Atta (Justin’s Brother Aaron Weeks’ Band)- ?

SECRET TRACK (check out the Plus section for the source)

PLUS!

THE TOUCH- STAN BUSH from TRANSFORMERS

I couldn’t find an embeddable version of the official video so check that out here, but there are a couple of decent fan vids for the song.

I remember it more from this movie than the first Transformers movie.

CROOKERS- IL CATTIVO

I can only imagine the Lollapalooza Afterparty two days ago was amazing.  It almost had to be with Crookers, Major Lazer and Rye Rye performing.  There does not appear to be an official music video for this track but Mad Decent seems to know that Youtube is not only the place people go to look for videos but also audio tracks (I preview albums by looking up tracks on Youtube).

SUB FOCUS- ROCK IT

The official video for this track is a little anime, a little b-boy, a little NO PATTERN and a little art college animation project.

ELECTRIC WIZARD- WE HATE YOU

It would be rad to hear this stuff live.  Especially the bass.  I bet it is rib breaking.

This video has a bunch of Zombie Movie gross-outness mixed in just to warn you.  I love it but you might not…

ELEVATOR TO HELL/ ELEVATOR THROUGH/ ELEVATOR- BACKTEETH

They made their band name shittier but this song is heavy and trippy and awesome.  I can’t find any videos.  Deal with it.  I did find another great track called Second Conscience.

SCREAMING FEMALES- STARVING DOG

Shit.  I want to see this band.  I missed them this Spring in Chicago and Detroit.

RACHELLE GARNIEZ- MY HOUSE OF PEACE

So yeah, I had a hard time saying I didn’t like this song on the podcast.  I’ve listened to it a few times now and looked up some of her videos for this post and she is growing on me.  The song and story in the video below are beautiful and hilarious.  Plus she played with Rufus Wainwright so some points there.

MULATU ASTATKE AND HELIOCENTRICS

Okay, Beezy and I both screwed up here.  Firstly, this record came out on STRUT records not !K7.  Also, !K7 the label is a German Electronic label and has nothing to do with Kemistry.  Oops.

It is, however, awesome.  Here is a little preview and interview behind the collab for Inspiration Information 3.

METRIC- HELP I’VE ALIVE

I’m so glad that late night variety shows are using LPs to highlight the new records of musical guests.  This performance of Metric on David Letterman’s show is pretty awesome.   Their singer is sexy and the band dudes are pretty hip so I figure that in no time they will have radio songs galore.  Love ’em now while your teenage cousins aren’t into them!

RUNA LOS ATTA-

These dudes are young and thus they are all over the internet.  I like this rocking track they have up on Youtube.

Here are their myspace facebook and twitter pages.  Also, Justin mentioned that they play the stylophone on that track.  Specifically the RACONTEURS tour-edition stylophone.

This is the Raconteurs stylophone.

raconteurs-stylophone

Here is a dude making a 80’s medley with one.

SECRET SONG

This entry was posted in Episodes, Tracklists, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shit We Are Diggin’ (Tracklist +)

  1. Kelli Garner says:

    Really nice posts. I will be checking back here regularly.

Leave a Reply

