Episode #28 – Machine Soul-A Detroit Techno Mix By Kevin

Yeah, I know. You were really looking forward to hearing Beezy and Local DJ deliver half truths about music they barely researched. You will just have to wait until the Halloween podcast. In the meantime you can listen to a bangin’ mix put together by Kevin. I would introduce it, but as we know, I barely know what I am talking about. So I am going to let Kevin fill you in on what you need to know (after the jump).

DOWNLOAD Machine Soul, or listen here:

MACHINE SOUL – A DJ MIX BY KEVIN
0:00:00  Kraftwerk – Trans Europe Express (1977, Germany)
0:02:54  D-Train – You’re The One For Me (1981, New York)
0:06:59  Yazoo – Situation (1982, Essex)
0:08:34  Alexander Robotnick – Problemes D’Amour (1983, Italy)
0:11:31  Paul Hardcastle – Rainforest (1984, London)
0:14:27  Inner City – Big Fun (1988, Detroit)
0:17:47  Captain Rapp – Bad Times (I Can’t Stand It) (1983, Los Angeles)
0:21:55  Yellow Magic Orchestra – Firecracker (1978, Japan)
0:25:07  Kraftwerk – It’s More Fun To Compute (1981, Germany)
0:28:02  Inner City – Good Life (1988, Detroit)
0:31:43  George Kranz – Trommeltanz (Din Daa Daa) (1983, Germany)
0:35:25  Hashim – Al-Naafiysh (The Soul) (1983, New York)
0:38:56  Cybotron – R-9 (1985, Detroit)
0:42:29  Model 500 – No UFO’s (1985, Detroit)
0:46:15  Cybotron – Clear (1983, Detroit)
0:49:24  Adonis – No Way Back (1986, Chicago)
0:52:26  A Number Of Names – Sharevari (1981, first Detroit Techno song)
0:55:42  Kano – I’m Ready (1980, Italy)
0:59:14  Model 500 – Night Drive (Thru-Babylon) (1985, Detroit)
1:01:37  Model 500 – Future (1985, Detroit)
1:03:53  Rhythim Is Rhythim – Strings (Flam-Boy-Ant Mix) (1987, Detroit)
1:08:36  Kraftwerk – Numbers (1981, Germany)
1:10:50  Kraftwerk – Computer World 2 (1981, Germany)
1:12:42  Channel One – Technicolor (1986, Detroit)
1:16:17  Kraftwerk – Tour De France (1983, Germany)
1:18:14  Kraftwerk – Tour De France (Francois K Remix) (1983, Germany)

Back in Episode #18, Beezy put me on the spot by mentioning a Detroit mix that I was working on at the time. This was a mix that I was making for three very special people, and I wasn’t really planning on anyone else ever hearing it.  I was hoping that Beezy would’ve forgotten about it, but he has been hassling me ever since to put it up on the site.  Well, he finally wore me down!  First, let me explain the motivation/inspiration behind this mix…

For those who don’t know, the Movement is a three day electronic music festival that is held at Hart Plaza in downtown Detroit, and it always occurs on Memorial Day weekend.  The festival has four different stages and it goes from noon to midnight each day.  There’s a lot of DJ sets, with some live performances spread throughout the days.  The music is mostly techno, house, and electro… you know, the stuff that Detroit has become famous for all around the world, but no one in Michigan hardly cares about (or even knows exists).

This past Memorial Day weekend, I took a car full of teenage girls down to the Movement.  Two of them were my cousins, and the third was a Japanese exchange student.  They didn’t know anything about the Movement, had never been to a “rave” before (or any sort of large music festival for that matter), and two of them had never even been down to Detroit before!  So, I wanted to do something special for them, especially the Japanese exchange student.  I wanted to spend a day with them, hang out, eat some great food, have fun, expose them to something new and exciting, etc.  Detroit is usually a dead, desolate city, but because of the Movement festival, I knew that there was going to be thousands of people walking around and the city would be alive for once!  Plus, the Tigers had a game that day, so that brought in even more people to the city.

I packed the girls in my car and drove them down to Detroit.  I first gave them the grand tour, starting out in Pontiac and taking Woodward Avenue all the way down to Detroit.  I drove them around, showing them all of the landmarks, where I used to live (near Wayne State), the DIA, CCS, Detroit Science Center, etc.  We ate lunch in Mexicantown at Armando’s, checked out the Ren Cen, rode the People Mover, showed them Comerica Park, walked around Greektown and ate dinner at the New Parthenon.  The exchange student was excited when we walked past St. Andrews Hall because she knew about it from the movie “8 Mile”.

My three homegirls were somewhat familiar with the types of music being played at the Movement (because you can’t help but hear it nowadays in movies, TV shows, commercials, video games, etc.), but they had no idea that there was anything like this… that there was this sub-culture of people who were really into this music, liked to dance to it, knew what the songs were, dressed a certain way, etc.  All that they knew was what they heard on “the radio” and wha they saw in music videos–you know, whatever was popular–so their eyes were opened wide to thousands of people who were totally into this stuff.  And as the day went on, the girls started asking questions like, “How do people even find out about this music?  Where do you buy something like this?  It’s not on the radio, so how do you hear about stuff like this?  Where do you go to dance to stuff like this–because they don’t play it at the clubs/bars where I live?”

Well, all of this really got me thinking about how it all started.  The girls didn’t know anything about the music, and they showed an interest in learning more about it.  I had done other old school electro/hip hop mixes in the past, but none of them were strictly based on the music from Detroit.  So, I decided to make “Machine Soul” for my three amigas to “educate” them on the music’s origins.  I wanted to put all of the important early Detroit techno/electro songs on the mix, along with some of the other songs that were popular in Detroit back in the early-mid 80s.  Now, I couldn’t put everything on the mix that was popular in Detroit at that time, so I had to scale it back a little bit.  Narrow the focus.

Below are some music videos for the songs on the mix.  I have also included some YouTube stuff taken from two early Detroit dance shows on WGPR TV62.  The first was called The Scene, and it was later replaced by The New Dance Show.

Here’s the video for Kraftwerk’s “Trans Europe Express”:

Here’s the video for Inner City “Big Fun”:

Here’s the video for Yellow Magic Orchestra “Computer Games/Firecracker”:

Here’s the video for Inner City “Good Life”:

Here’s the video for Hashim “Al-Naafiysh”:

Here’s Model 500 “No UFO’s” on The New Dance Show:

Here’s A Number Of Names “Sharevari” on The Scene:

And here’s Kano “I’m Ready” on The Scene:

Here’s Model 500 “Future” on The New Dance Show:

And last but not least, here’s Kraftwerk “Tour De France”.  Instead of the video, I decided to use the clip from the movie Breakin’:

This entry was posted in DJ Mixes, Editorial, Episodes, Tracklists. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Episode #28 – Machine Soul-A Detroit Techno Mix By Kevin

  1. outobol says:

    This is super dope man! Thanks for all the jams and the info.

  2. Steve B. says:

    The mix is really nice, I remember growing up nearly all of these songs when I was young back when the Wizard mixed songs like these on the radio late night. The story that Kevin, who is one of the handful of people I have met that know this much about music, wrote so reminded of me of him.

  3. Josh D says:

    How do I get in touch with KEVIN!!!! This is Josh Dunn!!!!

Leave a Reply

