Life is Life

Laibach%202003_lo%20res

I’m sure there is going to be some head-scratching from the crowd from this post, but I am a big fan of Laibach and this song and video especially.  Laibach are a band from Slovenia that began in the 80’s as the music arm of the art organization Neue Slowenische Kunst (German for New Slovenian Art). From what I have read their music played in the intersection of Slovenian and German culture (Slovenia was occupied by the Nazis in the 40’s and apparently there are many cultural connections), Laibach is even the German translation for Slovenia’s capital Ljubljana.  Oh, and they are not Nazis.

That being said, the video for Life is Life is vaguely Fascistic which is only compounded by the martial beat of the song.  When I first watched it a few years ago I was uncomfortable (“am I watching a Nazi video??”) but now I am mesmerized by the style and it cracks me up at moments (that elk?)  I miss the way that punks and industrial musicians in the late 70’s and early 80’s were trying to be offensive or confounding as possible.  I think that’s one reason why the aesthetics of Laibach have ceased to bother me. Check out their Wikipedia pages if you want to learn more, or (even better) check out the NSK website which documents the current works of NSK and Laibach.

Oh, what the hell; I’m throwing in one of my other favorite Laibach songs and videos after Life is Life since you were so good.

This entry was posted in Editorial, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is Life

  1. Kevin says:

    That dude’s voice is so damn MONSTER!!! 🙂

  2. justinsweeks says:

    monster doesn’t even begin to describe this dude’s voice. I was crackin up the whole time! That video is trying to be super serious and arty and that dude is just being monster.

Leave a Reply

