Episode #38 – Introducing Mr Squid

The Hello Friends family has grown again. We would like to introduce the newest member, Mr. Squid. You may know him as Mike, frequent guest and commenter on Hello Friends. Since he has helped us so much we decided to make him an official member.

In this episode we just play some music we are into right now. Local DJ continues his streak of playing “music” that is possibly not enjoyable, Beezy assaults the listeners with another ICP track, and Mr. Squid brings the dopest jams on the show.

Download episode here or subscribe in iTunes.

-beezy

This entry was posted in Episodes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Episode #38 – Introducing Mr Squid

  1. Kevin says:

    Welcome on board, Mike!

    Matt, I liked that Henry Jacobs “Rhythm Study #8” tape loop stuff. Yes, the concept and year that it was made is fascinating, but I also liked that recording by itself. I’m a fan of ambient music, and that recording sounded very ambient to me.

    Mike, I liked the music on that Felix the Housecat song, but I didn’t like the girl talking over the track…

    And as many times as I’ve been out to Grand Rapids, I have never been to Yesterdog. Beezy, now you’re gonna have to take me there the next time I come out!! I’ll get the chicken fingers. 🙂

    Matt, I liked that Ruth track, and the horns on that song were really dope!!

    Beezy, regarding the speeding up of songs, I’ll never forget the time that Thes One complained to me about how he sounded like a chipmunk on one of my old underground hip hop sampler mixtapes. A lot of that early People Under The Stairs stuff was just too goddamn slow… I had to pitch them shiits up to +8% just to be able to get into them.

    Beezy, you need to post that Scarface album cover so that people will know what you guys are talking about!

    And the link between Scarface and the Hello Friends Intro is actually a lot closer than you think. I didn’t take the “say hello to my little friend” from the movie… I actually took it from the Ghetto Boys “Balls And My Word” interlude:

    When it comes to stuff like gangsta rap, and bling rap, and drug dealer rap, etc., I could never get into it that shiit. But I have to agree with you guys… at least when it comes to the late 80s/early 90s stuff, the gangsta rap shiit had dope beats/music that I could really get into.

    When I was growing up and listening to rap, the vast majority of what rappers were talking about was things like how fresh/dope they were as MCs, rockin’ the house, sucker MCs, etc. Rapping about stuff like clothes, gold chains, cars, and the trials/tribulations of ghetto life was a very minor thing (and a lot of times non-existent). MCs who would actually mention that type of shiit in their songs, would only do so briefly… as if only in passing.

    Around 1993-1994, however, a lot of rappers started talking about that shiit all of the time. It started to really dominate and rappers wouldn’t talk about anything else. All that they began to talk about was drug dealing, selling dope, pimpin’ hoes, nigga this, nigga that, “for all my street niggas” shiit, guns, killing, murder, bitch this, hoe that, drinking champagne, their private jets, expensive automobiles, yachts, jewelry, starting fights in clubs, player this, player hater that, being a big baller, and how niggas be jealous of their wealth and fame. And those who rapped about being a dope MC, or were straight up battle MCs, or were progressive/experimental/innovators, were now in the minority (and mostly non-existent). And all of the popular rappers from the late 80s and early 90s who NEVER rapped about any of that… all started talking about that ignorant dumb shiit by the mid 90s.

    And that’s why I have not been able to get into ANY of the popular rappers of the last 15-20 years… because the ONLY things that they rap about is all of that stupid dumb shiit. I would’ve never gotten into hip hop in 1983 if that was the type of crap that the majority of MCs were rapping about back then.

    In all of my years as a DJ, I’ve probably only had 10 or so perfect nights where everything went right… where the club/bar was jammed packed, everything that I played rocked the house, people were going nuts, and where I made very few technical errors as a DJ. A couple of those perfect nights happened during my residency at Three Floors of Fun.

    My time at St. Andrews Hall was a very special time in my life. The most memorable night at St. Andrews for me was the time when the New York City Breakers crew showed up. They were in Detroit on tour with the Wu-Tang Clan. And after the Wu-Tang concert (that was held earlier at a different venue), the b-boys from the Hardcore Detroit crew brought some of the members of the NYC Breakers to St. Andrews for the Three Floors of Fun night. The night started out pretty typical… The upstairs Burns Room was pretty dead from 10:00PM until around 11:30PM, but once all of the b-boy crews started showing up (from Southwest Detroit and other metro areas), and once the Hardcore Detroit crew showed up with the NYC Breakers, that’s when shiit WENT OFF!!! The third floor where I DJ’d was a tiny ass room, and there was usually one big breakdance circle, but that night, there were TWO breakdance circles and it was jammed packed up there! Everything that I played and how I mixed the songs together got a huge reaction from crowd. It was as if everything that I dropped made the crowd and b-boys explode! And these were songs that they’ve heard a million times before! I was playing all of the classic funk/soul breakdance classics (and later I played some old school rap/electro classics). Shiit was off the hook nonstop from 11:30PM to 2:30AM. The most gratifying thing for me was that at the end of the night, two of the members of the NYC Breakers came up to me and gave me a pound, and were later talking off to the side with some of the Detroit b-boys about how good I was. This meant a LOT to me because they were from the birthplace of hip hop, and the NYC Breakers were one of the originators of breakdancing. They were representing one of the crews that helped start it all, and to get props from them meant everything to me. Plus, one of the fine ass hispanic b-girls from the NYC Breakers crew was smiling at me and sort of flirtin’ with me at the end of the night. So yeah, that felt good, too! Overall, it was a perfect night!!

Leave a Reply

