Somali Legit

With the recent bombing in Uganda and all of the press about Somali pirates, I thought that it might be a good time to do a post on K’naan.  He was raised in Mogadishu, but when the 1991 Somali Civil War broke out, he and his family fled to New York City (briefly) before finally settling in Toronto.  You can read about K’naan’s background and history here and of course here.

OK, I know what you’re thinking… “Somali rapper?  This is gonna be terrible!”  I, for one, have never been a fan of African rap.  Hell, I didn’t even like Zimbabwe Legit (except for the DJ Shadow’s Legitimate Mix, but that doesn’t count.)  K’naan, however, is the first African rapper to catch my attention.

K’naan’s most recent album, Troubadour, was released in February of this year.  Gilles Peterson played the hell out of one of the tracks (“America”) and even had K’naan in conversation back in March.

Below are three of my favorite songs from the Troubadour album.  I was most impressed by K’naan’s lyrics and how he approaches his topics in these songs.  It’s a fresh and totally different take on the street/ghetto/gangsta genre of rap.

K’naan – T.I.A.

K’naan – I Come Prepared (featuring Damian Marley)

K’naan – America (featuring Mos Def & Chali 2Na)

This entry was posted in Editorial, Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Somali Legit

  1. djmistersquid says:

    I like that T.I.A. jam. I also like what Afrikan Boy has been up to as far as African Rap

Leave a Reply

