The early-to-bed fuck-up, a date with Denny’s and a perfect love song

So I got home from working a double shift yesterday and crashed out around 7pm. When I woke up at 3am I knew I fucked up, my schedule was doomed to be screwed, I couldn’t get back to sleep.  What to do?  I could finish “Be My Baby” – the autobiography of Ronnie Spector I was 30 pages away from finishing – that sounded good.  But I wanted coffee.  And pancakes.  That equals a date with Denny’s.

I spent about 3 hours there, finished “Be My Baby” ate my pancakes, drank my coffee and started a new book, “Let it Blurt” the bio of Lester Bangs by Jim DeRogatis (it’s great, by-the-way).  I was in my own space, immersed in the terrible, freaked-out yet transcendent world of America’s greatest rock critic when something broke through.  Trickling thinly through the small, dotted loudspeakers in the ceiling came, “my heart is beating like a jungle drum! Ta dug da dug dug a dug a dug dug…”

Is it a reborn Nancy Sinatra?  Is it.. what the heck is it?  2 years ago I would have been doomed to remembering the chorus and then googling it when I got home.  10 years ago maybe I wouldn’t have ever found out who it was “dug a dug dugging.”  But it’s 2010 so I hoisted my G1 smart phone in the air and hit tag on Shazam.  A few seconds later “Emiliana Torrini – Jungle Drum” was the answer I’d been looking for.

I got home and downloaded it.  Wow.  The track is even better with the little electronic flourishes I couldn’t make out on the shitty Denny’s soundsystem.  And the video is whimsical and sexy.  You’re in love Emiliani Torrini?  Well, so am I.

This entry was posted in Editorial, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The early-to-bed fuck-up, a date with Denny’s and a perfect love song

  1. justinsweeks says:

    diggin this.

Leave a Reply

